What are the Penalties for Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in Atlanta?

Is your driving license is revoked or suspended in Georgia due to any reason. In such a situation, it is common to think whether you can still drive on a suspended license under special circumstances or will you be penalized. And what are the penalties if you are caught driving on a suspended license.

Having your driving license suspended is a serious concern which means you might not be able to drive. Talking to an Atlanta criminal lawyer can help minimize the consequences of losing your license.

Here is everything you need to know about license suspension and the consequences of driving on a suspended license.

Understanding Driving License Suspension in Georgia

A license suspension is a condition in which your driving privileges are withdrawn for a temporary period. The driving privileges can be temporarily withdrawn for a variety of reasons such as committing a felony with a motor vehicle, racing illegally on public roads, forging an identification document, leaving the scene of an accident, refusing a chemical test after a DUI stop, DUI offenses, accumulation of demerit points, etc.

The suspension period may vary depending on the number of demerit points on your driving record or any other offense that you have committed. Driving on a suspended license could lead to longer suspension, fines and jail term. You can also request a hearing to appeal if you believe that the suspension was illegal.

Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Georgia

The penalty for a first offense of driving on a suspended license in Georgia:

  • Jail time of two days and up to 12 months
  • Fines of up to $1000

Penalty for 2nd offense driving on a suspended license

  • Jail time no less than 10 days to no more than 12 months
  • Fines of up to $2,500

Penalty for Subsequent offenses for Driving on a Suspended License

  • 1 to 5 years in jail, and
  • Fine between $2,500 to $5,000

Reinstatement fee for a Suspended or Revoked License

To reinstate a suspended driver’s license, you need to satisfy a set of requirements after the suspension period is over. The requirements for reinstating suspended licenses are determined by the DDS. These requirements will vary according to the type of suspension. Also, the reinstatement fee may vary depending on specific situations

  • $210 for a first conviction
  • $310 for a 2nd conviction within five years, and
  • $410 for a third conviction within five years

Depending on the circumstances, your driving license may be reinstated after paying the fine. However, you may need to complete other requirements before your license is reinstated.

Conclusion:

Driving after suspension or revocation of license comes with serious penalties including jail time and fines. Hiring a criminal lawyer in Atlanta who is familiar with such circumstances you give the best advice.

Gainesville Car Accidents Lawyer

At Hines Law, we’re committed to providing the best representation to our clients.  Our team of Atlanta accident lawyers, criminal defense lawyers and construction accident lawyers has the knowledge and experience to help individuals and families facing a variety of issues.

Learn More  Atlanta criminal defense lawyer

Free Evaluation

Top Rated Lawyers

Our highly experienced lawyers will contact you for a Free Legal Consultation.

Author

Hines

Matthew C. Hines

Matthew C. Hines founded the Hines Law Firm in 2004. During this time he has earned a reputation for his dedication to his clients and his passion for justice. Mr. Hines has been fighting for the rights of his clients for nearly fifteen years and has extensive experience handling a wide range of personal injury matters, with a focus on helping every client recover the compensation they deserve. Learn More

 /    free consultation

Get A Free Initial Consultation

Reach out for your free consultation with Hines Law today, and let’s start addressing your legal needs together.