Do I Need a Lawyer for Workers’ Compensation in Georgia?
Many people do not realize the importance of securing a lawyer for their workers’ compensation case; however, having a legal advocate on your side is vital to ensure an optimal outcome.
During the workers’ compensation process, you will be dealing with an insurance company representative that may seem to have your best interests at heart, but in reality, their focus is on protecting your company’s stockholders and preserving the bottom line. Ultimately, the goal of the insurance adjuster is to pay you as little as possible, with little regard for the impact of the injury on your health, finances, and future.
Another one of the many benefits of getting a lawyer for a workers’ compensation case is having an expert guide to help you navigate the often long, complicated process. It can be difficult to keep track of the numerous notices and paperwork involved in a workers’ compensation case, and it is all too easy to miss a critical deadline and potentially impact your case.
Furthermore, many workers believe that workers’ compensation is a final decision that cannot be challenged. However, with a legal expert from Hines Law on your side, you can continue to pursue your rightful settlement through the appeals process.
At the Law Offices of Matthew C. Hines, we can not only help you receive the compensation you deserve, but we will also help lighten the burden of securing medical treatment, dealing with insurance adjusters, and understanding the confusing process.
Georgia Workers’ Compensation Laws
The state of Georgia implements a number of laws in regards to workers’ compensation, intended to protect workers and allow them to seek rightful compensation for work-related injury or illness. With that being said, there are certain limitations and restrictions outlined by the workers’ compensation laws in Georgia, and it is important to understand how they may affect your case fully.
Here are a few key facts to know about Georgia’s workers’ compensation laws:
- If you are involved in a workplace accident, it is imperative that you immediately report your injury to your supervisor. You have 30 days to officially report the incident to your supervisor, after which point you may lose your right to workers’ compensation benefits.
- Filing a claim involves completing a specific state-provided form (Form WC-14) and submitting it to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. A copy of the document must also be provided to your employer, as well as your employers’ workers’ compensation insurance carrier.
- If your injury causes you to be absent from work for more than seven days, you are eligible to be paid two-thirds of your regular weekly earnings (maximum $575 weekly income benefit).
- Depending on your specific injury and circumstances, you may be qualified to receive workers’ compensation for up to 400 weeks.
- Any business that employees three or more workers must maintain workers’ compensation insurance coverage. Part-time employees are included in the requirement, and a business owner can be charged with a misdemeanor for failure to comply.
At Hines Law, we will be happy to serve as an expert resource on all the workers’ comp laws in Georgia, answering your questions and helping you determine how regulations may apply to your specific situation. Though every workers’ compensation is different, we have the legal expertise and unwavering determination to tirelessly pursue the fair outcome that you deserve. You can trust us to fight for your right to workers’ compensation, keeping you informed and involved every step of the way.