As a worker, it’s helpful to know how long you can receive workers’ compensation benefits in Georgia after experiencing a work-related injury. According to Georgia Law, if you are injured while at work, you may be able to receive workers’ compensation benefits. Workers’ compensation is a type of accident insurance that is paid by employers to cover income benefits, rehabilitation, and medical care for workers who are hurt on the job.
Sometimes, getting hurt while at work is inevitable. Because of this, the state of Georgia has placed a requirement on employers to purchase insurance that will cover these types of injuries for employees and their dependents. Georgia’s workers’ compensation law is complex, which is why it is recommended that you reach out to Hines Law for help. Our team can provide you with guidance, advice, and representation throughout the legal process. We will also fight to ensure you receive the benefits you are entitled to.
Who Is Entitled to Receive Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Georgia?
In the state of Georgia, a business that has three or more employees, which includes part-time workers, must have workers’ compensation insurance. If you experience an injury while working, you can receive benefits based on Georgia’s law.
All workers in the state of Georgia are covered by their employer’s workers’ compensation insurance. You don’t have to have worked at the business for a certain amount of time to be eligible for these benefits.
If you experienced an injury while working, it’s a good idea to let your employer know about the situation right away. Also, you have just 12 months from when the accident and injury occurred to file your workers’ compensation claim in Georgia. If you don’t file within this amount of time, you may be disqualified from getting benefits.
How Long Will You Receive Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Georgia?
After you have submitted your workers’ compensation claim to your employer, the insurance company they use has the responsibility of paying you benefits. You should receive your initial check within 21 days of when you first missed work due to your injury. Usually, you will be able to receive benefits for up to 400 weeks.
The amount of time will be shorter or longer based on your injury. For example, in cases of amputation, a person who loses a toe probably won’t receive benefits for as long as someone who loses an entire leg or arm.
If you are unable to work after a period of seven days, then you can receive weekly benefits. The weekly payments that you receive will typically account for about two-thirds of what you earn in an average week.
Contact Our Legal Team for Help with Your Case
If you are injured at work and your employer or their insurance company denies your claim, you can file an appeal. It is best to get in touch with our legal team at Hines Law to learn more about your rights. We will review your case and help you recover the benefits that you deserve.
We have years of experience representing clients just like you. You can also count on our expertise to ensure that you get the best possible representation and outcome for your situation.
White-Collar Workers’ Compensation Injuries in Atlanta
Construction Scaffolding Accidents in Georgia: Workplace Injury Lawsuits