GAINESVILLE GA DUI ATTORNEY
Driving under the influence of alcohol or any other drug is a serious offense, which most people take lightly. They consider it a minor traffic offense for which they get a slap on the wrist if arrested. However, driving under the influence is a serious charge that can land you in jail and cost you a lot of money in terms of huge fines and sky-high car insurance premiums. In most cases, your driving license will be suspended either temporarily or permanently.
It is because of the above reasons that Georgia residents should hire a competent Gainesville DUI lawyer to help them fight drunk driving charges. An aggressive DUI lawyer will use their experience and knowledge to create a strong defense that will help you beat the charges. We understand that the experience of getting charged in court can be terrifying, so at Hines Law firm we usually pull all the stops to ensure you get a favorable outcome. We have a team of skilled attorneys who will analyze the case in detail and carry out the necessary background research to ensure you are able to get a positive outcome.
Below is a quick guide to help you out if you or someone close to you has been charged with a DUI charge in Gainesville.
An Overview of Georgia DUI Laws
On average, 28 people are killed daily on US roads in accidents associated with drunk driving. This is according to the NHTSA. If you break it down further, a person dies of DUI-related accidents every 52 minutes on US roads. That is why harsh penalties are prescribed for offenders.
When Can You Get Charged With DUI in Georgia?
According to Georgia DUI laws, a person can be charged with driving under influence if they are found to be impaired by alcohol or drugs in any way. You can be arrested on suspicion of DUI if:
– You’re in control of a motor vehicle and your blood alcohol content is 0.08 or higher (BAC). If you are underage, the BAC limit is reduced to 0.04. If you are a commercial driver operating a commercial vehicle, the BAC limit is also 0.04.
– Reckless driving. You can be charged with a DUI if the prosecutor demonstrates that at the time of the arrest, you were driving in a less-safe manner because of intoxication even if your BAC is lower than the statutory limits. You can be charged with DUI on the account of your reckless driving even if you were not impaired, but a urine or blood test shows traces of illegal drugs, such as marijuana.
GA DUI Penalties
Just like in most other parts of the country, Georgia DUI penalties are severe. That is why it is recommended you hire a competent and experienced Atlanta DUI lawyer. The following are penalties that accompany a DUI conviction:
- Jail Sentence: First offenders can be jailed for anything between 10 days up to one year, 2nd offenders can be sentenced to a jail term of 90 days to one year while third offenders can be jailed for 120 days up to one year.
- Fines: DUI convictions for first, second and third offences come with the following fines; $300 to $1,000, $600 to $1,000 and $1,000 to $5,000 respectively.
- Community Service: In addition to the jail time and hefty fine, the judge can also order community service for a minimum of 20 hours for first offenders and minimum of 30 days for subsequent offenses.
Ordinarily, DUI charges are usually misdemeanors, but they can also be considered a felony in some cases. For instance, if you cause bodily harm due to your drunk driving, someone gets killed, you flee the scene or you’ve been convicted of 3 or more DUI offenses previously, you can be charged with felony DUI, which comes with harsher penalties.
Types of DUI Cases We Normally Handle
Our lawyers are well-acquainted with the relevant DUI laws and have plenty of experience handling drunk driving cases in Gainesville and the surrounding areas. We are always ready to help you fight for your rights. Below are some of the DUI-related charges we normally handle on a typical day:
First DUI Offense
Whether you are a visitor coming into town for business or pleasure, or you’re a local, DUI charges can be stressful. While first offenders usually get off the hook easily, subsequent convictions come with harsher penalties.
However, this is not to say that you should take your first DUI offense lightly because the penalties that come with a conviction include a huge fine and some jail time as well as community service. Ideally, you should not take any chances. Call a GA DUI Lawyer right away!
Second and Third DUI Charges
After the first drunk driving offense, you can expect harsher penalties, such as extended jail terms and bigger penalties if you are convicted of a second or third DUI offense. At Hines Law Firm, we have what it takes to get you off the charges or negotiate a lesser sentence if the evidence is overwhelming.
In Georgia, drivers who are under 21 years are considered underage drivers who are expected to stay away from alcohol because 21 years is the minimum drinking age. Our lawyers know how to properly handle these cases and can easily craft a DUI defense based on the unique circumstances surrounding each case. Since underage DUI involves minors, our lawyers will handle the case delicately.
Drugged Driving Arrest
When people hear of DUI, alcohol immediately comes to mind. However, you can be charged with a DUI offense if you are found to be driving under the influence of marijuana or any other type of drug. If you find yourself in such a case, be sure to hire an experienced GA DUI lawyer.
In Atlanta, and Gainesville in particular, accidents and injuries related to drunk driving are fairly common. If you’ve been arrested for causing an accident that leads to serious injuries, or a fatality, as a result of drunk driving, you’ll face serious charges.
Our lawyers at Hines Law Firm strongly advice against fleeing the scene of a DUI accident as this is a serious offense. Just pull over, call for an ambulance and make a call to your lawyer. This will give both the first responders and your attorney enough time to assess the situation and investigate every detail.
Suspended Driving License
After suspension of a driving license, Georgia residents or visitors have a window of 30 days to appeal the decision and try to save their license. The first step is to ask for an ALS hearing. This will cost around $150, and the request should be made to the Georgia Department of Drivers Services.
Your license may be suspended for a period of up to one year if you do not request the hearing during this window. If you live in another state, you should take note that the suspension of your license in Georgia could also affect your driving privileges in your home state.
Aside from the ALS hearing, you could also install an ignition interlock device. However, you should only do this after consulting the legal team at Hines Law Firm. Our lawyers have many strategies for fighting different types of DUI charges. Call us today for a free consultation.
Contact Our Gainesville DUI Lawyers
Law Offices of Matthew C. Hines handles criminal and DUI defense cases through out Georgia. Contact our law firm today for a fee consultation.