Drunk Driving in Gwinnett County
What Is DUI?
DUI is short for driving under the influence. It may also be referred to as drunk driving. People are considered legally intoxicated if their blood alcohol content is at or above 0.08. This is the legal intoxication limit in all 50 states. The legal intoxication limit has been 0.08 for several years, but the National Transportation Safety Board is pushing to lower it to 0.05. They have found that people who have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 are twice as likely to get into a car accident as people with a BAC of 0.05.
It is important to note that gender and weight affect person’s BAC. A 120 pound person will get intoxicated quicker than someone who weighs 200 pounds. Women get intoxicated quicker than men. Additionally, it is easier to get drunk on an empty stomach. Food slows down the absorption of alcohol. When deciding to drink or not, it is important to take all those factors into consideration, especially if there is a chance you may need to drive afterwards.
Keep in mind that the BAC limits are lower for people who are driving commercial vehicles. The BAC limit is 0.04 for people who drive commercial vehicles. Additionally, the BAC limit is 0.02 for people who are under the age of 21. A person’s blood alcohol level will probably reach 0.02 after drinking just one alcoholic beverage. It is illegal in every state for people who are under the age of 21 to consume alcohol.
How Common Is DUI In Georgia?
In 2012, there were 301 fatal drunk driving accidents. Thirty-one of the people who were killed in a drunk driving accident were under the age of 21. Seventy percent of the drunk driving accidents involved drivers who had a BAC of 0.15 or above. Even though this is a serious problem in Georgia, statistics have shown that DUI fatalities are actually on the decline. A 2012 report showed that DUI fatalities had decreased by 32 percent within the past 10 years.
It is estimated that there 27,903 DUI arrests made in 2012. One-hundred and eight-five of the people arrested for DUI were under the age of 18. Nearly seventy-eight percent of the people who were involved in a fatal DUI crash were repeat DUI offenders.
Why Is It Dangerous To Drive While Intoxicated?
Alcohol alters your judgment. People may think that they are driving normally when they really are not. Motor skills and depth perception are also impaired by alcohol. That is why every state has a zero tolerance policy.
Penalties For Drunk Driving
People who are caught driving under the influence in Gwinnett County could face serious penalties. There are several factors that affect the punishment for DUI. Some of those factors include a person’s age, previous DUI convictions and possible license type.
DUI offenders who are under the age of 21 can get their drivers license suspended for six months. If their BAC is above 0.08 percent, then they can get their drivers license suspended for one year. First-time DUI offenders who are under the age of 21 may also be required to complete a drug risk reduction program and pay a $210 fee. Repeat offenders who are under the age of 21 may get a longer license suspension, pay a higher fine and spend time in jail.
First time DUI offenders who are under the age of 21 can their license suspended for up to one year. They may also be required to pay a fine that ranges from $300 to $1,000. Additionally, they may be required to complete a drug risk reduction program, spend up to one year in jail and complete community service. Repeat offenders may be subjected to longer jail sentences and higher fines. They could also get their license revoked. When a person gets license revoked, he or she will have to retake the driving test over again. Our Gwinnett County DUI Lawyer can get your charge reduced or dropped.
Why Do I Need A Gwinnett County DUI Lawyer?
You should definitely consider hiring Gwinnett County DUI Lawyer to represent you in your DUI case. A lawyer is very familiar with the court system. There are harsh penalties for drunk driving. However, if you have a good Gwinnett County DUI lawyer on your side, then you may be able to get your DUI charges reduced. You may also be able to get off with a lighter punishment. That is why it is in your best interests to hire a Gwinnett County DUI Lawyer.